This week Mrs.DeSimone gave us a new project, to design a new logo for the South Carolina Human Affairs Commision. Their current logo is a very abstract shape, which they claim is two hands holding up the sun, but to me it looks like a beetle. After I had finalized my state fair entry piece, I began working on my logo design. From the emails Mrs. D and the contact from the Affairs Commission exchanged about what they wanted included in our designs, I had a few ideas involving people, shapes, the South Carolina state outline, a sun, and more. I was excited to work on this project because it reminded me of the design projects we did last year, which were always a lot of fun. I sketched out a few of my ideas then began making them on Illustrator immediately. I decided to get a head start on the project since as I learned last year, I am always rushing last minute to fix and finish things. Each time I created one of my sketches on Illustrator, I would get a new idea and begin a new design. My most recent design is the one I like the best, but I need to touch it up a bit to make sure it really represents the Human Affairs Commission and what they do. So far, my design is two hands in a cupping position with little shapes in their palms. The contact from the Commission said they are interested in abstract designs, so the hands look almost like a sketch, and the shapes are almost drop like. The crossroads I am currently at is deciding if I want the shapes to be different shades of skin colors, to represent the SCHAC’s goal to stop discrimination, or if those shapes should be colorful, to be more abstract. Between the state fair contest and the SCHAC logo design, I have not worked on my senior mastery much this week. Although, after a full year at LEAST I FINALLY used the drawing tablet!! My first attempts at digitally drawing were quiet…. Interesting. The tablets will take some practice to get the hang of, but I really think I will be able to use them to create mandalas for my coloring book. I will attach the artistic masterpiece I created below.